NetworkMinnesota-Scores | NorthDakota-Scores | Report Score | Coach Login
Tournament Brackets | CraigOlsonSports | PheasantCountry |
Federated Telephone Heartland Motor Company
Print this Story
Email this Story
Benson School
Benson Wrestling
Fergus Falls School
Fergus Falls Wrestling
Mahnomen School
Mahnomen Wrestling
Minnewaska Area School
Minnewaska Area Wrestling
Ortonville School
Ortonville Wrestling
Waubun School
Waubun Wrestling

Sunday, January 4, 2015

Benson, Ortonville Wrestle In Bravesí Classic

By Kyle Gylsen - Benson

Benson hosted the five-team 2015 “Braves’ Classic” wrestling tournament Saturday.

The hosting Braves won the team title with 252.5 points.  Fergus Falls was second with 147.5, followed by Ortonville (132.5), Minnewaska Area (121.0) and Mahnomen/Waubun (76.0).

Benson had nine wrestlers reach the finals and won seven championships, while another tied for first.

The Trojans earned one individual title, with four wrestlers reaching the finals.  A good portion of Ortonville’s team points came from the athletes who did not give up after losing a match and battled back to claim third or fourth place.

Winning championships for the Braves were: Wyatt McGee (120),Chase Young (138),Grant Ascheman (145),Mitch Koosman (170),Matt Wieber (182),Trevor Berreau (195),Tyler Smith (220) andDakota Watkins (285).

Koosman actually finished ina three-way tie for first, along with Caleb Blaisdell of Minnewaska Area andJonathan Hoffner of Mahnomen/Waubun.  All three had 1-1 records.

Austin Whitcup (126) andDan Lenarz (160) were runners-up,Jared Knutson (132) and Aaron Zosel (152) each place third andTy Wersinger (113) finished fourth.

Benjamin Eustice was the lone individual champ for Ortonville, winning a title at 126 pounds.  Danny Eastman (113), Ty Scofiels (120) and Joseph Eustice (138) each placed second.

Robert Wood (160), Travis Westlund (182) and Tylor Jacobson (285) finished third in their weight classes.

Cody Ballard (106), Mike Roach (145) and Elijah Cloos (152) placed fourth, with Colin Hartman (132) earning fifth.

Weston Lardy of Minnewaska Area andNathan Onstad ofFergus Falls were named the Most Outstanding Wrestlers.  Onstad was the 132-pound champion.  Lardy won the 152-pound title.


No game notes to report

©1998-2018 - Powered by MNSOnet at